** Edit: This post is a work in progress. I’m updating it as I find more and wish to say more. Also I can’t figure out why the title is not showing. **

 

 

What were the Catacombs?

The catacombs of St. Callixtus are among the greatest landmarks of Rome and of the Early Christian legacy. Famous for the art that covers its walls and ceilings, it is home to buried martyrs, 16 popes, very many christians, and to the earliest dated christian art. In a time when christians were persecuted for their faith, the survival of the christian art in the catacombs is impressive and also of vital concern. In fact, Christians and Jews were safe from Roman persecution when performing funerary rites in the catacombs. Adams says, “According to Roman law, burial grounds were sacrosanct, so Romans rarely pursued Christians into the catacombs…” The catacombs were regarded as too important and valuable to interfere with, which would be why the christian art survived the time period.

A view of where the bodies were buried.

 

A map showing different locations of different catacombs

Before the creation of the catacombs, the early christians had no place to bury their dead. They did not cremate the bodies of the deceased, unlike their Roman neighbors, as life after death is important to the christian belief. The preservation of the bodies was symbolic of this belief. However, forbidden to bury their dead in regular burial grounds, the early christians made due with what they could. It is the reason why Saint Peter came to be buried at the public burial grounds “necropolic” on Vatican Hill. As a result of various grants and donations, christians began burying their dead underground. These tombs were niches cut out of the rock, and after placing the body inside, were sealed shut with a slab of rock. The catacombs grew as more donations came and family plots grew to include more than just family. The catacombs fell into disuse after the invasion of the Goths and Longobards. The barbarians systematically destroying and pillaging great structures, including parts of the catacombs, so the religious leaders removed the relics and treasures that had been kept there. This caused the catacombs to fall into disuse as burials were held in church cemeteries, and it was eventually forgotten until its accidental rediscovery in 1578.

The Art of the Catacombs

How the art interacted with the graves.

A painted ceiling in the Catacomb of SS. Pietro e Marcellino, Rome. 4th Century AD.

How this impacted me

 

Resources:
H.W. Janson History of Art p. 212-214
Laurie Schneider Adams Art Across Time p. 271-280
The Christian Catacombs of Rome

6 thoughts on “Art & Christ: Exploring the Catacombs

  1. Ameena Bossier

    Erin,

    This is such an interesting topic. I never knew about the reasoning behind early Christians not wanting to cremate the bodies of the deceased. It never occurred to me that this went with the Christian faith or was a belief that some held.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Alana Espineli

    Erin. Thanks for sharing all this information on the catacombs. I’m glad you were able to add photos to your blog after presenting. Though that first picture seems very well-lit, I wonder what it would have been like to experience it when steady illumination wasn’t available. It is hard for me to imagine in a setting that is so dark.

    Like

    Reply
  3. sdavis11@georgefox.edu

    There is something so poetic about creating art, having meetings, and building community in a tomb; around decaying flesh and darkness. It is amazing to me how much dedication and commitment these Christians had. If I were told today that the only place I was allowed to pray and meet with fellow believers was in a sewer, I don’t know if I could do it. Which is sad and terribly convicting, considering people back then did it, and there are probably people today who have to undergo that hardship to be with Christ.

    Like

    Reply
  4. abiggerworldyet

    It looks like you found some more images. I like what you located and the variety of images you are showing us. The map doesn’t make a lot of sense to me. It seems to be pointing out that there are two catacombs away from the city center, are there some in the middle there that I’m not seeing? The photo you have of the grave with the painting around it is very lovely and haunting. When was the invasion of the Goths when they fell out of disuse? I’m just curious how many years they were used as actual graves.

    I always find it curious when things like this “disappear” and then are rediscovered. All those years and the catacombs lie forgotten. I have to think it would be hard to worship or paint in there as it would be very dark, or smoky. We see these places all lit up with electricity, but I’m sure at the time they were very mysterious places that were damp and easy to get lost in. Interesting stuff!

    Like

    Reply
  5. ecaudillo11

    I didn’t know the catacombs existed, in fact I didn’t know what they were, so it makes sense I didn’t know they existed. It is really interesting that they would bury their dead on the sides of the walls. I’ve been to cemeteries in Mexico, where they build walls inside the cemetery, but these walls are just places where they bury the dead stacked vertically like in the catacombs. Anyways, thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Megan

    I really like how you were able to find pictures of various catacombs. I remember learning about them in history class but vaguely remember much about them. I really enjoyed being able to see them. I didn’t realize however that they were like safe havens I guess from the Romans so that was really interesting. I really enjoy your layout and ya I think this is well done overall. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment